top of page

the Early Years Foundation Stage 

Development Matters is non-statutory curriculum guidance for the early years foundation stage (EYFS). It is a document which supports early years practitioners to provide quality education for each child, and outlines children's learning and development, covering seven key areas:

  • Communication and Language

  • Personal, Social, and Emotional Development

  • Physical Development

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


The Development Matters guidance is designed to complement practitioner's professional judgement, and offers a view of children's development in broad ages and stages. Accurate and proportionate assessment is vital, and observational checkpoints for each of the areas, and ages and stages are covered in practitioners evaluations of children's progress.

Further information can be viewed at Development Matters - Non-statutory curriculum guidance for the early years foundation stage (

At Early Steps we provide a broad curriculum with a range of stimulating play ideas and activities that allow and encourage children to learn and develop in each of the above areas.


bottom of page